Pixie Hollow-An Autistic’s Point of View

As most of you know, I have autism. Autism is a disorder that makes you different from neurotypical people. (Neurotypical people are, well, typical people.) People with autism are born with autism, it’s not something you can catch or something that will go away. People with autism have special interests, something that the person loves and might talk about a lot. I think my special interests are books and fairies. People with autism also have sensory differences, like textures or sounds bothering them, and others soothing them. When an autistic person seeks out soothing things, it is called sensory stimulation, or stimming. Autistic people don’t have good social skills, but can learn them if taught. For example, making eye contact. I make eye contact with people, but it didn’t come naturally, I was trained to do it. Even though I have better social skills than some autistics, I still find it hard and confusing to interact with people sometimes. At school, there are a lot of people, mainly boys, who make fun of me for my behavior. By now, you might be wondering when I’m going to talk about Pixie Hollow. Well, to understand how exactly my point of view would be different, you need to know what autism is. Some of the things I feel about Pixie Hollow might not be autism related, but it can be hard for me to tell what is autism based and what is not. Β When I first started Pixie Hollow, I had already made fairies in the create-a-fairy thing. My main fairy was not my first, as I had been in a cycle of making fairies, deleting them, and making new fairies. Phoebe Bumbleflip started as another of those fairies, but when I was playing as her I got the harvest hustle high score badge. I didn’t think I could get it again, so I kept her. As I played, Phoebe Bumbleflip became my main fairy. Now, Phoebe Bumbleflip is part of me. I don’t remember the exact date, but sometime later I created my second non-deleted fairy, Chocolate Cocoawings. I didn’t play as her that much, though. Both of them were created before the arrival process was based on the Tinker Bell movie. I did have the dandelion outfit though, because it automatically gave it to anyone who arrived before that was the arrival garment. Pixie Hollow felt like more than a game to me, it was like I could escape into the fairy world. That feeling might have had seeds in my special interest in fairies. Before I ever played Pixie Hollow, I wished I could be a fairy. Pixie Hollow was the closest thing. I moved to a different town in 2012, and then Pixie Hollow became a way I could see my best friend. Her fairy was June Citrussprout. In Pixie Hollow, I made so many friends. I feel like if I knew them outside of Pixie Hollow, we would still be friends. It’s ironic that I never met any of the PBC or forum fairies, at least not long enough to remember. It might have been because I was always in the Strawberry Fields server, unless I was ingredient shopping, which is what we called it when June and I went into empty servers, gathering ingredients. I had a hat and boots that I would wear all the time, unless I was wearing a specific outfit or something that they didn’t look good with. I held off getting a bigger house for the longest time, because, like most autistic people, I don’t like change. I had a hummingbird named Rose. Near the close of Pixie Hollow she ran away, and I wore an all black outfit in mourning. I cried so much when Pixie Hollow closed, because it was so special to me, in ways I don’t know how to explain. I want it back so much.

Fly with you later!

Phoebe Bumbleflip

4 thoughts on “Pixie Hollow-An Autistic’s Point of View

  1. Rose MorningMist

    Wow, this is an amazing post πŸ˜€
    I was actually writing up a post on a very similar topic for your blog, but it seems you beat me to it! πŸ˜›
    Btw, I can imagine it must have been challenging to write such a long and detailed post. It’s turned out amazing, excellent job πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Quicksilver Cloudshimmer

    Phoebe, I just read your article on Autism. I was very moved as I have a grandson with Autism. He is a genius but has Asperger’s Syndrome. You must be a very smart person, most people with Autism are very smart. You are also a very brave person to share your story with all of us.
    I also love fairies and dreamed of being a fairy when I was young. I made so many fairy friends and I also wish I had met some of them here on the mainland. That is why I still miss Pixie Hollow so much. I made my fairies before Pixie Hollow and I loved leaving nice messages for other fairies. I was always so nice to all fairies as I thought Pixie Hollow would be a great place for Children with special needs to meet others that would be a friend.I still think they should bring Pixie Hollow back. I used it at first because My mother was dying of lung cancer at my home. She did not want to die in a hospital. Fairies was a way for me to be kind to other fairies on the website, it was helpful for me also to see kind messages from other fairies. I don’t know that I ever met you in Pixie Hollow, if I had I am sure i would remember you.
    Thank you again for sharing your story, I see my grandson in your story. I am sure you are a very special person.

    Sincerely,
    Quicksilver Cloudshimmer
    Twilight Diamondshimmer
    Topaz Nightwhisper

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

